Skip to main content

Diane Rover


Professional Bio:

Diane Rover has been a Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Iowa State since 2001. She recently served as Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs in the College of Engineering from 2004-2010. Prior to that, she served as associate chair for undergraduate education in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering from 2003-2004. She began her academic career at Michigan State University, where, from 1991-2001, she held the positions of assistant professor and associate professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. From 1997 to 2000, she served as director of the undergraduate program in computer engineering at MSU. She also served as interim department chair in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering from 2000 to 2001. She was a research staff member in the Scalable Computing Laboratory at the Ames Laboratory under a U.S-D.O.E. Postdoctoral Fellowship from 1989 to 1991. Her teaching and research has focused on the areas of embedded computer systems, reconfigurable hardware, integrated program development and performance environments for parallel and distributed systems, visualization, performance monitoring and evaluation, and engineering education. She currently serves as principal investigator for NSF STEP and S-STEM grants in the college.

Dr. Rover is a member of the IEEE Computer Society, the IEEE Education Society, and the ASEE. From 2006-2009, she served on the IEEE Committee on Engineering Accreditation Activities (CEAA), and in 2009, was appointed to the ABET Engineering Accreditation Commission. Since 2002, she has been an IEEE ABET/EAC Program Evaluator in computer engineering. She served as Senior Associate Editor for the Academic Bookshelf for the ASEE Journal of Engineering Education from 2000-2008. She received an NSF CAREER Award in 1996.

Dr. Rover received the B.S. degree in computer science in 1984, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in computer engineering in 1986 and 1989, respectively, from Iowa State University.